Pollution Probe’s annual gala is the premier networking event of the year for environmental professionals. No other celebration of this kind brings together senior leaders from such a diverse array of industry sectors, government departments and civil society organizations. It is an event not to be missed.


As Canada moves from the commitment phase to the execution of our Paris Accord goals, the need for examples of hands on, practical innovation takes centre stage. That’s why, in 2017, Pollution Probe recognized the excellent work being done by a broad spectrum of communities, companies, organizations and fellow ENGOs who have developed and launched pilot projects that will help us to find the best pathways to success.

The 2017 Pollution Probe Gala celebrated the truly spectacular pilots already underway, and fostered greater awareness of the important projects still seeking sponsorship.

The Pollution Probe Gala welcomes hundreds of leaders from business, government and civil society who are the key influencers and decision makers within the climate and sustainability conversation.

Networking Reception & Interactive Displays

The gala evening opened with a networking reception and the year’s exhibition showcase of interactive displays. A highlight of the evening, this interactive exhibition space offers Platinum and Gold sponsors the opportunity to showcase innovative pilots, products, services and technologies to hundreds of environmental professionals and sustainability business leaders.

Gala Dinner

At the Gala Dinner, guests heard from inspiring leaders who are on the forefront of innovation that will help Canada meet its Paris goals. The dinner featured the presentation of the annual Pollution Probe Award to Carbicrete, an emerging technology company developing innovative, low-cost building solutions that contribute to the reduction of greenhouse gas emissions. This annual networking event is an essential relationship building opportunity for established and emerging leaders alike.

2017 Special Guests

The Honourable Chris Ballard, Minister of the Environment and Climate Change
MPP Newmarket-Aurora

Minister Ballard currently serves as Minister of the Environment and Climate Change for Ontario. Ballard was first elected to the Ontario legislature in 2014 as the MPP for Newmarket—Aurora. He was previously Minister of Housing and Minister Responsible for the Poverty Reduction Strategy.

Attorney General of Ontario, The Honourable Yasir Naqvi, M.P.P.
Minister of Labour for Ontario, The Honourable Kevin Flynn, M.P.P.
Minister of Infrastructure for Ontario, The Honourable Bob Chiarelli, M.P.P.
Romeo Saganash, M.P.
Teresa Armstrong, M.P.P.
Sylvia Jones, M.P.P.
Sophie Kiwala, M.P.P.

Jim McDonell, M.P.P.
Arthur Potts, M.P.P.
Lisa Thompson, M.P.P.
Dianne Saxe, Environmental Commissioner of Ontario
Steve Parish, Major of Ajax
Bonnie Crombie, Mayor of Mississauga
Rob Burton, Mayor of Oakville

The Pollution Probe Award

The Pollution Probe Award presentation is a gala dinner highlight. The award celebrates extraordinary achievement by individuals or organizations working toward positive, tangible environmental change and exemplifying in their work the values espoused by Pollution Probe.

This year’s award will honour a ground-breaking pilot project that brings together social and environmental benefits towards our Paris Agreement goals.


Piloting Progress


Carbicrete, represented by Chris Stern, Co-Founder and CEO, and Dr. Mehrdad Mahoutian, Co-Founder and CTO

Carbicrete‘s pilot project is an innovative technology that could allow manufacturers to reduce their greenhouse gas emissions by producing concrete without cement. Carbicrete’s technology instead uses waste steel slag to create this valuable construction product while permanently sequestering CO2 in the concrete, making a durable, lower-cost and carbon negative concrete.


Generation Now


Nivatha Balendra & Eden Full Goh


Committed to Community

Jaime Rogers

Medicine Hat, represented by Jaime Rogers, Manager, Medicine Hat Community Housing Society


Future Builders


Dokis First Nation, represented by Chief Denise Restoule


Come Together

Date: 03-14-12
Location: NBL
Subject: Expedition 35 (Soyuz 33S) crew members Tom Marshburn and Chris Hadfield during EVA training at the NBL.
Photographer: James Blair

Astronaut and former Commander of the International Space Station, Colonel Chris Hadfield


Leaders in Learning

Jeffrey Simpson
for logo

Renowned author, journalist and columnist, Jeffrey Simpson


Catalysts of Innovation

October 12, 2010 
Rideau Hall, Ottawa, Canada 

Official portrait of His Excellency the Right Honourable David Johnston, C.C., C.M.M., C.O.M., C.D., Governor General and Commander-in-Chief of Canada, at Rideau Hall, on October 12, 2010. 

Photo credit: Sgt Serge Gouin, Rideau Hall, OSGG

© Her Majesty The Queen in Right of Canada represented by the Office of the Secretary to the Governor General (2010)

12 Octobre 2010 
Rideau Hall, Ottawa, Canada 

Portrait officiel de Son Excellence le très honorable David Johnston, C.C., C.M.M., C.O.M., C.D., gouverneur général et commandant en chef du Canada à Rideau Hall, le 12 octobre 2010. 

Mention de source : Sgt Serge Gouin, Rideau Hall, BSGG

 © Sa Majesté la Reine du Chef du Canada représentée par le Bureau du secrétaire du gouverneur général (2010)

His Excellency the Right Honourable David Johnston, Governor General of Canada

2017 Pollution Probe Gala Committee

John Beck
President and CEO, Aecon Group Inc.

Nicole Court, Director, Corporate Affairs, Aecon Group Inc.
Mathew Kattapuram, SVP, Strategic Business Development, Aecon Group Inc.
Sandra Odendahl, President and CEO, CMC Research Institutes
Ken Ogilvie, Independent Contractor
Mike Peters, Vice President, Energy and Sustainability, Global Public Affairs
Chris Robbins, CEO, Creative Dock Canada
James Scongack, Vice-President Corporate Affairs and Environment, Bruce Power

Click below to see photos from past Pollution Probe Galas:

For more information, email gala@pollutionprobe.org or call 416-926-1907 x 234.

Thank you to our 2017 Gala Sponsors

Gold Sponsors


Silver Sponsors


Aird & Berlis LLP
Alectra Utilities
CAA South Central Ontario
Canadian Association of Petroleum Producers
Canadian Vehicle Manufacturers’ Association
Cement Association of Canada / Lafarge Canada Inc.
Crosslinx Transit Solutions – Constructors
The Delphi Group
EllisDon Corporation
FCEV Coalition / Global Automakers of Canada
Greater Toronto Airports Authority

Hatch Ltd.
Independent Electricity Systems Operator
Ivanhoé Cambridge
Ontario Power Generation
Power Workers’ Union
Royal Bank of Canada
Ryerson University
SNC Lavalin
Union Gas Limited

Silent Auction Donors

Actual Media Inc.
Air Canada
Ana Pascos Photography
Art Gallery of Ontario
Beau’s All Natural Brewing Company
Canadian Stage Company
CN Tower
Ellington Realty
Fairmont Royal York
Flat Rock Cellars
Freedom Mobile
GE Canada

Greenhouse Juice Company
Hockey Hall of Fame
Jerome Photography
Kicking Horse Coffee
Mama Earth Organics
Maple Leaf Sports & Entertainment
Mariposa Cruises
McMichael Canadian Art Collection
Mysteriously Yours
Naked Snacks
National Ballet of Canada
Ontario Science Centre
Plug’n Drive
Ricoh Canada

Ripley’s Aquarium of Canada
Royal Ontario Museum
Shawn and Ed Brewing Co.
Steamwhistle Brewing
Tatiana Slobodcicov
Tawse Winery
The Big Carrot
The Green Beaver Company
The Keg
Toronto Zoo
True North Rock Climbing
Via Rail