Pollution Probe’s annual gala is the premier networking event of the year for environmental professionals. No other celebration of this kind brings together senior leaders from such a diverse array of industry sectors, government departments and civil society organizations. It is an event not to be missed.


As Canada moves from the commitment phase to the execution of our Paris Accord goals, the need for examples of hands on, practical innovation takes centre stage. That’s why this year, Pollution Probe is recognizing the excellent work being done by a broad spectrum of communities, companies, organizations and fellow ENGOs who have developed and launched pilot projects that will help us to find the best pathways to success.

Please join us in celebrating the truly spectacular pilots already underway, as well as fostering greater awareness of the important projects still seeking sponsorship.

At the Pollution Probe Gala, you’ll join hundreds of leaders from business, government and civil society who are the key influencers and decision makers within the climate and sustainability conversation.

The Gala consists of these integrated events:

Networking Reception & Interactive Displays

The gala evening will open with a networking reception and this year’s exhibition showcase of interactive displays. A highlight of the evening, this interactive exhibition space offers Platinum and Gold sponsors the opportunity to showcase innovative pilots, products, services and technologies to hundreds of environmental professionals and sustainability business leaders.


Gala Dinner

The evening continues with the Gala Dinner. You’ll hear from inspiring leaders who on the forefront of innovation that will help Canada meet its Paris goals. The dinner will feature the presentation of the annual Pollution Probe Award. This annual networking event is an essential relationship building opportunity for established and emerging leaders alike.


2017 Special Guests

The Honourable Glenn Thibeault, MPP, Minister of Energy

Minister Thibeault currently serves as the Minister of Energy for the Province of Ontario. He was previously Parliamentary Assistant to the Minister of the Environment and Climate Change, focusing on Climate Change. Before entering provincial politics, he was the Member of Parliament for Sudbury.

Attorney General of Ontario, The Honourable Yasir Naqvi, M.P.P.
Minister of Labour for Ontario, The Honourable Kevin Flynn, M.P.P.
Minister of Infrastructure for Ontario, The Honourable Bob Chiarelli, M.P.P.
Minister of Environment & Climate Change for Ontario, The Honourable Chris Ballard, M.P.P.
Romeo Saganash, M.P.
Teresa Armstrong, M.P.P.
Sylvia Jones, M.P.P.

Sophie Kiwala, M.P.P.
Jim McDonell, M.P.P.
Arthur Potts, M.P.P.
Lisa Thompson, M.P.P.
Dianne Saxe, Environmental Commissioner of Ontario
Steve Parish, Major of Ajax
Bonnie Crombie, Mayor of Mississauga
Rob Burton, Mayor of Oakville

The Pollution Probe Award

The Pollution Probe Award presentation is a Gala dinner highlight. The award celebrates extraordinary achievement by individuals or organizations working toward positive, tangible environmental change and exemplifying in their work the values espoused by Pollution Probe.

This year’s award will honour a ground-breaking pilot project that brings together social and environmental benefits towards our Paris Agreement goals.


Generation Now


Nivatha Balendra & Eden Full Goh

Click here for more detail on Nivatha and Eden.


Committed to Community

Jaime Rogers

Medicine Hat, represented by Jaime Rogers, Manager, Medicine Hat Community Housing Society


Future Builders


Dokis First Nation, represented by Chief Denise Restoule


Come Together

Date: 03-14-12
Location: NBL
Subject: Expedition 35 (Soyuz 33S) crew members Tom Marshburn and Chris Hadfield during EVA training at the NBL.
Photographer: James Blair

Astronaut and former Commander of the International Space Station, Colonel Chris Hadfield


Leaders in Learning

Jeffrey Simpson
for logo

Renowned author, journalist and columnist, Jeffrey Simpson


Catalysts of Innovation

October 12, 2010 
Rideau Hall, Ottawa, Canada 

Official portrait of His Excellency the Right Honourable David Johnston, C.C., C.M.M., C.O.M., C.D., Governor General and Commander-in-Chief of Canada, at Rideau Hall, on October 12, 2010. 

Photo credit: Sgt Serge Gouin, Rideau Hall, OSGG

© Her Majesty The Queen in Right of Canada represented by the Office of the Secretary to the Governor General (2010)

12 Octobre 2010 
Rideau Hall, Ottawa, Canada 

Portrait officiel de Son Excellence le très honorable David Johnston, C.C., C.M.M., C.O.M., C.D., gouverneur général et commandant en chef du Canada à Rideau Hall, le 12 octobre 2010. 

Mention de source : Sgt Serge Gouin, Rideau Hall, BSGG

 © Sa Majesté la Reine du Chef du Canada représentée par le Bureau du secrétaire du gouverneur général (2010)

His Excellency the Right Honourable David Johnston, Governor General of Canada

2017 Pollution Probe Gala Committee

John Beck
President and CEO, Aecon Group Inc.

Nicole Court, Director, Corporate Affairs, Aecon Group Inc.
Mathew Kattapuram, SVP, Strategic Business Development, Aecon Group Inc.
Sandra Odendahl, President and CEO, CMC Research Institutes
Ken Ogilvie, Independent Contractor
Mike Peters, Vice President, Energy and Sustainability, Global Public Affairs
Chris Robbins, CEO, Creative Dock Canada
James Scongack, Vice-President Corporate Affairs and Environment, Bruce Power

Click below to see photos from past Pollution Probe Galas:

For more information, email gala@pollutionprobe.org or call 416-926-1907 x 234.

Thank you to our 2016 Gala Sponsors

Presenting Sponsor

Gold Sponsors


Friend Sponsors



Aird & Berlis LLP
Borealis Infrastructure
Bullfrog Power Inc.
Canadian Energy Pipeline Association
Canadian Fuels Association
Canadian Vehicle Manufacturers’ Association
Cement Association of Canada/Lafarge Canada Inc.
EllisDon Corporation
Enbridge Gas Distribution Inc.
Fasken Martineau/Global Automakers of Canada

Greater Toronto Airports Authority
Hydro One Networks Inc.
ITC Lake Erie Connector
Ivanhoé Cambridge Inc.
Pollution Probe Chair’s Table
Power Workers’ Union
Sussex Strategy Group Inc.
Tech-K.O., Inc.
Union Gas Limited