Board of Directors

Sean Morley — Chair
Sean Morley is a partner in the business law section of the law firm of Fasken Martineau and a member of the firm’s strategic counsel practice group. He was formerly an executive assistant and senior advisor to the president and chief executive officer of the Ontario SuperBuild Corporation. Mr. Morley has also held a variety of senior policy positions in the Ontario government, including senior policy advisor to the Minister of Education and Training, and senior policy advisor to the Minister of Training, Colleges and Universities.

Jennifer Hooper — Director
Jennifer Hooper is the former global director for Health and Safety at Vale, a Brazil-based global mining company that is a leading producer of iron ore and nickel and a major producer of fertilizers, copper, coal, manganese and aluminum. Previously, Ms. Hooper held executive positions in sustainability and human resources in Vale’s base metals business, and has held senior positions in Ontario’s Ministry of the Environment and Ministry of Labour. Her private sector experience includes working as global director of Climate Change and global director of Safety, Health and Environment for the agriculture and nutrition business of E.I. DuPont Company of Canada. Ms. Hooper is a fellow of LEAD (Leadership for Environment and Development) Canada.

Fiona Jones — Vice Chair and Chair, Audit and Finance Committee
Fiona Jones is a sustainability professional with expertise in energy and climate change policy. She served as general manager, Sustainability at Suncor Energy where she represented Suncor’s interests in climate and environmental policy development forums, at both the provincial and national levels. Her team’s mandate included identifying key sustainability risks and opportunities and setting Suncor’s strategy for managing the risks, including complying with greenhouse gas regulations. She has served in an advisory capacity to develop reporting guidelines and led both sustainability and carbon risk disclosure projects. She engaged broadly with investors on sustainability issues, as well as environmental and energy advocacy groups in overseeing Suncor’s Community Investment program, and stakeholder outreach.  Prior to joining Suncor, Ms. Jones held senior roles in Ethics and Compliance and Corporate Responsibility at Petro-Canada. She also managed Petro-Canada’s Market Risk and Derivatives group.

IMG_0033 (2)

Steve McCauley — Director
Steve McCauley is Senior Director, Policy at Pollution Probe. Prior to joining Pollution Probe, Steve served as Director General, Energy and Transportation with Environment Canada.  He is a leading expert in the environmental field, having spent more than twenty years with the federal government managing the development and implementation of policies and programs in numerous areas, including climate change, air pollution, and the advancement of renewable energy and clean technologies. He has led the development of national renewable energy and clean technology strategies and initiatives in partnership with provincial governments, the environmental community, industry and international partners, such as the United States Environmental Protection Agency and the United Nations. Steve has also led federal and international regulatory actions on greenhouse gas emissions, air contaminant emissions and chemicals management in the transportation, energy and other industrial sectors.

Pierre Millette — Director and Chair, Governance Committee
Pierre Millette retired from Toyota Canada Inc. in 2009, where he had been its general counsel and later national manager, External Affairs. He was also a director for the Canadian Motor Vehicle Arbitration Plan (CAMVAP) for 12 years and served on numerous auto industry committees from 1990 to 2009. Prior to joining Toyota, Mr. Millette was general counsel for the F.W. Woolworth Co. Limited of Canada.

John Roberts — Director
John Roberts is Vice President Environmental Affairs at TMAC Resources, a gold mining company engaged in the development of the Hope Bay Property in Nunavut. He was previously the vice-president, Environment, at Aurora Energy Ltd., a uranium exploration and development company active in the Central Mineral Belt of coastal Labrador. Prior to that he was the vice-president, Environment at Nexfor Inc. (formerly Noranda Forest Inc.) a large Canadian forest products company. While in the forest industry John was chair of the Environment Section of Canadian Pulp and Paper Association (now FPAC) and led the Air Quality, Environmental Assessment and Communication Sub-Committees. He served on association committees and task forces dealing with climate change, environmental management and public outreach. He has been active with the World Business Council for Sustainable Development and the International Forestry Round Table. John was a founding member of the Alliance for Environmental Technology, and the Excel Partnership, a unique organization of Canadian corporate sustainability executives. He also served as Director, Energy, Environment and Transportation Research at the Conference Board of Canada.